Call Me a Cockroach-Killing Machine…Essential Oils to Get Rid of the Roaches

Well…it’s been a week and I think I can safely say that essential oils can keep cockroaches out of my house!

It all started a couple of weeks ago. Heavy rains always force the critters inside and our house, though rarely effected, happened to be the one they chose this year. One lone roach in the bathroom, a scream (did it really come from me??), and my handsome hubby to the rescue, and the cockroach was safely flushed.

Fast forward two days and a few more inches of rain. Roach #2 joined his unlucky comrade in the commode. And hubby sent me an email, (yes, really), to please call the pest control company ASAP.

Now, I am happy to do that. I will not live in a roach-infestation. BUT…here’s what the company told me. First, the earliest appointment available was in 4 days and second, we had to empty every cabinet. Once the technician was finished, we would have to leave the house for 4-6 hours. And take the bird with us. And re-wash all the dishes we took out of the cabinets.

What?? And then it’s safe to put this stuff back?? If it’s that toxic on our systems that we had to leave, I was concerned for our health as well as the very delicate respiratory system of our bird.

So, I Googled what essential oils might work for pest control. And I found that cypress oil, peppermint oil, and saltwater seemed to work. I mixed 1/2 cup saltwater with 10 drops each of the oils and put it in a spray bottle. I sprayed every nook and cranny of my bathroom, the kitchen, and doorways as I was cleaning.

I wasn’t sure about the staying power of the mixture, so I re-sprayed that evening before bed and twice more in as many days. So far, we haven’t seen any roaches. So I’m hoping this will work as a long term solution.

The only downside was my choice of delivery system. My spray bottle was plastic with a fine mist nozzle and it clogged. Changed bottles and no more problems!

The recipe:

  • 1/2 cup saltwater (I dissolved 1 tbsp sea salt in 1/2 cup warm water)
  • 10 drops cypress oil
  • 10 drops peppermint oil

I have also read that you can use tea tree oil (melaleuca) or eucalyptus.

So for now,

Call me happy in a roach-free environment

Categories: Uncategorized | 9 Comments

Post navigation

9 thoughts on “Call Me a Cockroach-Killing Machine…Essential Oils to Get Rid of the Roaches

  1. Terri Pack

    After the two oils and 1/2 cup salt water do u fill the rest of the bottle with distill water?

  2. Sandrs

    What does the salt do?

  3. Melanie

    Did this method work in the long-term??

    • So far, it has. I haven’t refreshed the spray much during the winter months. But I haven’t had any return of the critters since I posted this.

  4. Vanessa

    Hello, I tried this method and so far I have not seen a cockroach in my house. However I realized that the peppermint smell from the solution goes away rather quickly. Will this still be effective in keeping away cockroaches? How often should I spray around the house?

    • I sprayed once a week or so in the summer/early fall but far less recently. The odor does fade but I haven’t seen a return of the roaches.

  5. Becky Brown

    What type of bottle did you switch to that worked well?

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com. The Adventure Journal Theme.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 325 other followers

